The Roger Award 2014 - Nomination Form

Organised by CAFCA and GATT Watchdog

The Roger Award, Box 2258, Christchurch | |

The Roger Award is for The Worst Transnational Corporation Operating in Aotearoa/New Zealand in 2014

See below for details on criteria, judging, nominations and the Accomplice Award.

Your name:




Transnational Corporation nominated:

Reasons why you think your nominee is the worst TNC in NZ in 2014 (see below for criteria):

If you need more space than the online form allows and/or want to send accompanying material, please email it as a Word attachment to


The criteria for judging are by assessing the transnational (a corporation which is 25% or more foreign-owned) that has the most negative impact in each or all of the following categories:

  • Economic Dominance
    Monopoly, profiteering, tax dodging, cultural imperialism
  • People
    Unemployment, impact on tangata whenua, impact on women, impact on children, abuse of workers/conditions, health and safety of workers and the public
  • Environment
    Environmental damage, abuse of animals
  • Political interference
    Interference in democratic processes, running an ideological crusade


The judges for 2014 are: David Small, a lawyer and Senior Lecturer in Education at the University of Canterbury; Dean Parker, Auckland writer and former Writers' Guild delegate to the CTU; Dennis Maga, union activist from the May First Movement Philippines, organiser of FIRST Union and founder of Migrante and UNEMIG; Paul Maunder, cultural worker, curator of Blackball Museum of Working Class History and coordinator of Unions West Coast; and Sue Bradford, community activist, lecturer in social practice at Unitec and former Green MP.

They will be given a shortlist of finalists. The winner(s) will be announced at a Christchurch event on May 1, 2015.


You can nominate the same transnational as last year as long as the nomination is about their misdeeds in 2014. Please send as much detail as you can, including newspaper clippings and reports, but you do not have to do all the research. Just quote sources if you can.

Accomplice Award:

You may also nominate an organisation (not an individual) which has been the worst Accomplice in 2014 in aiding and abetting transnational corporations in New Zealand to behave as described in the criteria. The Accomplice's award is in addition to the Worst Transnational Corporation award and will not necessarily be awarded every year. You may nominate for either or both awards.

Nominations close on October 31, 2014.

Send by post

You can alternatively download the Roger Award 2014 Nomination Form here (DOC 56KB), print and complete the form and send it by post to:

The Roger Award, Box 2258, Christchurch 8140.