The Roger Award 2015 - Nomination Form

Organised by CAFCA and GATT Watchdog

The Roger Award, Box 2258, Christchurch | |

The Roger Award is for The Worst Transnational Corporation Operating in Aotearoa/New Zealand in 2015

See below for details on criteria, judging, nominations and the Accomplice Award.

Your name:




Transnational Corporation nominated:

Reasons why you think your nominee is the worst TNC in NZ in 2015: (see below for criteria). The period covered is from November 1st 2014 until October 31st 2015.

If you need more space than the online form allows and/or want to send accompanying material, please email it as a Word attachment to


The criteria for judging are by assessing the transnational (a corporation which is 25% or more foreign-owned) that has the most negative impact in each or all of the following categories:

  • People
    Unemployment, impact on tangata whenua, impact on women, impact on children, abuse of workers/conditions, health and safety of workers and the public
  • Environment
    Environmental damage, abuse of animals
  • Political interference
    Interference in democratic processes, running an ideological crusade
  • Economic Dominance
    Monopoly, profiteering, tax dodging, cultural imperialism


The judges for 2014 are: David Small, a lawyer and Senior Lecturer in Education at the University of Canterbury; Dean Parker, Auckland writer and former Writers' Guild delegate to the Council of Trade Unions; Dennis Maga, union activist from the May First Movement Philippines, organiser of FIRST Union and founder of Migrante and UNEMIG; Sue Bradford, community activist with Auckland Action Against Poverty and the Left think tank project; former Green MP; and Deborah Russell, feminist, social and political commentator and tax expert, Tertiary Education Union member, and candidate for the Labour Party in 2014.

They will be given a shortlist of finalists. The winner(s) will be announced at a Palmerston North event on April 30, 2016.


You can nominate the same transnational as last year as long as the nomination is about their misdeeds in 2015. Please send as much detail as you can, including newspaper clippings and reports, but you do not have to do all the research. Just quote sources if you can. Please note that Fonterra is not eligible.

Accomplice Award:

You may also nominate an organisation (not an individual) which has been the worst Accomplice in 2015 in aiding and abetting transnational corporations in New Zealand to behave as described in the criteria. The Accomplice's award is in addition to the Worst Transnational Corporation award and will not necessarily be awarded every year. You may nominate for either or both awards.

Nominations close on October 31, 2015.

Send by post

You can alternatively download the Roger Award 2015 Nomination Form here (DOC 62KB), print and complete the form and send it by post to:

The Roger Award, Box 2258, Christchurch 8140.