CAFCA views, analyses, research

The Roger Award

The Roger Award For The Worst Transnational Corporation operating in New Zealand has run annually since 1997. There are no prizes for guessing whom it is named after. It is organised by CAFCA and GATT Watchdog, both Christchurch-based groups.

The judges have awarded prizes for runners up, continuity and collaborators. The Award has attracted considerable interest since its inception (even from the corporate media), and has had a succession of distinguished and completely voluntary judges. The events to announce the winners have become highly memorable in their own right.

2016 Roger Award Finalists Named

The six finalists for the 2016 Roger Award for the Worst Transnational Corporation Operating in Aotearoa/New Zealand are:

  • Bathurst Resources
  • Coca Cola
  • IAG/State Insurance
  • Uber
  • Westpac
  • Youi

There are two nominations for the Accomplice Award section - Talley’s, in partnership with Bathurst Resources; and the Government, specifically for its cheerleading role in championing the Trans Pacific Partnership Agreement (TPPA). There was also a clever nomination for the Government as corporation in its own right, which we will leave to the judges to rule on.

Full details of the 2016 Roger Award Finalists are available here.

IAG / State Insurance wins 2015 Roger Award

Full details of all entrants and their final placings.

2015 Roger Award - Judges' Report (PDF 310KB)

Adobe Acrobat (PDF) document containing the Chief Judge’s Statement, judges' comments and a financial analysis of the 2015 Winner, IAG / State Insurance.


Roger Award winners

Details about Roger Award winners from previous years.

2014 Roger Award

Full details of all award winners, runners up and other entrants.

The Roger Award 2014 - Judges' Report (PDF 527KB)

Download our PDF document detailing the judges' findings, including a financial analysis of the winner, ANZ Bank.

2013 Roger Award

Find out who won the 2013 Roger Award, along with details of the finalists and other award winners.


Campaign Against Foreign Control of Aotearoa,
P.O. Box 2258
Christchurch 8140.